Carbon fiber market

Carbon fiber

Industrial materials - high modulus carbon fiber market2013-01-28

The analysis of market and application to high modulus PAN carbon fibers
  • Author : Wang Zhiyong C. Y. Wang
  • The Wing Rainbow Technology Co., Ltd. R & D long
  • Abstract : The high modulus carbon fiber is the next generation of key material has the characteristics of light weight, high rigidity, can significantly be used in high-end areas of aerospace, automotive, energy, engineering, addressing the problems faced by industry. High modulus carbon fiber cost is high, but the design of the product application side have been adopted, and the emergence of high-end composite products. This article is looking forward to by the presentation and sharing of high modulus carbon fiber, making the design of high-end materials, costs, supply and demand oriented in product design have larger space, and thus make the whole industry can get rid of the limit toward high margin and the development of high value-added.


Abstract:

First, high modulus carbon fiber introduced

The earliest carbon fiber Bamboo carbon fiber began in 1880, with the development of space technology in the 1960s, Japanese Shinto Akio invention was a rapid development after the PAN-based carbon fibers. Only one fifth of the steel weight of carbon fiber, aluminum half, but the intensity is 10 times that of iron. In addition, it also has corrosion resistance, electrical conductivity, thermal conductivity, heat transfer, a low specific gravity, high tensile strength, high modulus and other excellent properties, and because they have fiber-like flexing resistance, ease of knitting processing and winding forming. Applications, the new-generation models of the aerospace industry in recent years, such as the Boeing 787, Airbus 380 have been substantially adopted outside, carbon fiber is also a lot of use in the sport, automotive and industrial uses, such as golf clubs, rackets, fishing rods, high-end cars body, wind vane, high-voltage cables, and construction engineering.
Carbon fiber is an important strategic material capacity high specification carbon fiber manufacturers around the world are located in Japan, is a high degree of oligopoly market, among which Toray (Toray) is noteworthy. As shown in the drawings a Toray product specifications, carbon fiber strength (on behalf of the material can withstand maximum stress) and analog-to-digital (Japan said: elasticity, on behalf of the rigidity of the material's ability to resist deformation) as a hierarchical distinction , the higher the level of the higher strength or higher the modulus, the price will also rise. The industry the most popular use of the T700 product, is a high-strength carbon fiber, and the strength of 4.9GPa modulus 230GPa, known as the 24-ton carbon fiber, low-modulus carbon fiber. Toray Company M Series MJ Series, M30, M40, M60, They belong to the high modulus carbon fiber modulus of 270 ~ 560GPa, commonly known as 30 tons, 40 tons, 60 tons of carbon fiber. At present, most of the carbon fiber manufacturers still only stay in the production of the 24-ton carbon fiber products, not yet entered in the high-end products.

Toray Specifications maps Molecular structure of carbon fiber schematically

Polyacrylonitrile as the raw material manufacturing process of PAN carbon fibers are generally as follows: polyacrylonitrile materials (Monofilament) → stabilization / pre-oxidation works (200 to 300 ° C, air oxidation time 10-20 hours) → carbonization Engineering (1000 - 1400 ℃, the nitrogen heating time more than 2 hours) → graphitization Project (1500-2000 ° C, and heating time of 0.5 hours or more) in argon → graphitized fiber. Treatment process at high temperature, carbon fiber molecule will gradually polymerized to form a tightly layered structure, the smaller the spacing between the graphite layers, i.e. the c-axis direction to shorten the distance, and to enhance the stability of the structure will make the synergistic effect of the Van der Waals force, so that the carbon fiber rigidity improved.

Second, the high modulus carbon fiber applications

Composite design trends large and lightweight, and how to better structure performance design, to reduce the weight of the structure, is a composite product key to upgrade. The current practice of including the upgrading of analog design technology (lower the design safety tolerance), the use of a highly rigid carbon fiber material, improve the composite process technology. To design end, the most convenient is highly rigid carbon fiber material, because of the structure within the safety tolerance to achieve the effect of weight loss, they do not need to adjust the process of the composites. In Japan, for example, in accordance with lightweight, high-performance needs of the next 10 years, to assess the most extensive use of carbon fiber composite material applications surface for the family car market, solar cells, large wind turbines, as well as large civil aircraft.

Wind turbine blades, for example, as shown in the drawing, the current 1.5MW blade, a total length of 35 meters, the main blade in glass fiber production. To build 7MW class large departure wind turbine blade length up to 70 meters long, is equivalent to the A380 wing width due to the direction of the force of the blade specific wind turbine blades will require a lot of high-modulus carbon fiber to improve rigidity, reduce the amount of deformation, to maintain blade life and improve wind power conversion efficiency, three leaves per unit, 3MW wind turbines will need nine tons of carbon fiber.


Figure III, large-scale wind turbine design concept

Panel transporting more familiar with the panel industry in Taiwan, for example, 8-generation plant must basically a mechanical arm with HM (high modulus) carbon fiber composite bracket of CFRP, in order to avoid the weight of deformation and load deforming too large, and caused the backend processes such as the error caused by the coating. By Mitsubishi data display the RM of CFRP (Raw Modulus), the dead weight of the amount of deformation at 24mm, the same size of the design, HM CFRP weight amount of deformation only 8mm, and can carry the original 1.5 times the area (weight) of glass, the overall engineering system the maneuverability and stability with great effectiveness.

Figure 8 on behalf of the panel industry factory shipping robot design concept

Another case of high modulus carbon fiber market applications 3C industry, including laptops, Pad, smart phones, etc., are constantly stressed and Development thin, heat dissipation and excellent products. Of carbon fiber composite materials to meet such demand, but the past carbon fiber composite material for the full use of excellent mechanical properties of carbon fiber are used thermosetting resin material, such material takes a few hours hardening time, and can not be trimmed, unable to meet the 3C industry needs. Comparison, the thermoplastic composite material has the advantages of rapid prototyping, with a high modulus carbon fiber design concept, not only to compensate for the high thin, the generally low modulus carbon fiber thermoplastic composites rigid low of ills, more opportunity to resolve the the 3C industry expect production issues.


Fourth, in high modulus carbon fiber applications in thermoplastic composites

Third, high modulus carbon fiber market

To 2007, around the world, except Japan, South Korea, India, Turkey, mainland master key material of the next generation of carbon fiber, to take national capital investment and encourage investment strategy, including Taiwan Formosa Plastics also actively expand production, resulting nearly 50 new carbon fiber company. Largest aerospace industry certification period for the use of the individual products in the carbon fiber market is quite long, invested a substantial increase in the results of the carbon fiber market supply has reached 70,000 tons is almost twice the past livelihood areas oversupply situation makes low modulus carbon fiber prices slipped. However, the other hand, in high modulus carbon fiber market, due to technical obstacles caused by the high threshold always has not been a breakthrough, to the current worldwide major providers still only Japan's Toray, Toho, Mitsubishi, middle and high modulus carbon fibers belonging to ultra-high temperature graphitization system drive (2000 degrees C or more), in the production process, any defects in the carbon fiber will cause stress concentration generated hairiness and destruction, this point substantially lower than the low-modulus carbon fiber so that the yield of the high modulus carbon fiber, coupled with strategic goods market regulation, in the market, the low modulus carbon fiber is often as high as 20 to 30% of the volatility, but in high mode number of carbon fiber prices but always flat and high, Annex Table 1 for different modulus grade carbon fiber of market prices, has been found in the modulus carbon fiber prices almost as low modulus carbon fiber 2 times more than the cost of huge differences lead to significant expansion of high modulus applications market is difficult.


Fifth, high modulus carbon fiber price difference

Opportunity for development of domestic carbon fiber composites industry

Contains the upstream carbon fiber raw materials and resin feedstock currently composites industry, the middle reaches of the Prepreg, woven factory, molding factory downstream, as well as the end consumer systems, brand application providers, in fact, the development of the sports industry very much intact, into the other industries such as 3C, wind vane, engineering, etc., are not difficult to Taiwan in the past years of deep plowing of technical strength. But the domestic industry in the acquisition of high-end carbon fiber material is still subject to the Japanese manufacturers control as well as the limitations of the high prices, resulting in a new generation of product upgrading and transformation of slowing down.


Figure 6, carbon fiber composites industry chain structure

Wing Rainbow Technology origin by the technical team of the institute, after several years of efforts to develop a unique worldwide special patented graphite technology, can exceed temperatures above 2000 degrees C, the market of low-modulus carbon fiber processing according to customer The need to upgrade to a high-modulus carbon fiber. The effect of this approach, carbon fiber is not limited label analog-to-digital upgrade by professional certification, such as the U-30 Wing rainbow modulus than the average low-modulus carbon fiber increase by 20%, while maintaining high strength, proved to be replaced by the market 30-ton high modulus carbon fiber into the market low-cost high-quality, and help customers toreplace the sizing, adjust the width of the fiber. The Wing Rainbow Technology production of high modulus carbon fiber goal is to break the monopoly of the United States, Japan, exclusive market at lower prices, better quality carbon fiber and provides professional and technical services to assist customers in product design and upgrade.


Wing Rainbow Technology high modulus carbon fiber products

V. Conclusion

The high modulus carbon fibers having a lightweight, high performance characteristics of most of the structural material can be used as the final choice. High modulus carbon fiber in the aerospace industry, wind blades, car engineering purposes, the Civil reinforcement, electronic industry, sports industry, have been gradually enhance the design proportion, the only high-modulus carbon fiber still need to resolve the imbalance between supply and demand, to buy control , process adjustment, product design and other issues, the most important is the price must be able to reduce to meet the market solutions such, the new generation of composite products can quickly be consumer accepted by the public, and to lead Taiwan composites industry investment in innovation and development, product upgrades so that the industry as a whole to be able to break free of the restrictions, toward the high-margin, high-value-added development.

碳纖維市場

高模數碳纖維

工業材料-高模數碳纖維市場與應用2013-01-30

The analysis of market and application to high modulus PAN carbon fibers
  • 作者 : 王智永C. Y. Wang
  • 永虹科技股份有限公司 研發長
  • 摘要:高模數碳纖維是下一世代關鍵材料,具有輕量化、高剛性等特性,可大幅被採用於航太、汽車、能源、工程等高階領域,解決產業面臨問題。目前高模數碳纖維成本雖然偏高,但產品應用端的設計均已開始採用,並出現於高階複合材料產品中。本文期待藉由對高模數碳纖維介紹與分享,可使得高端材料設計、成本、供需各面向在產品設計中的應用均有更大的空間,進而使整體產業能掙脫限制,朝向高毛利化、高附加價值化發展。


Abstract:

一、高模數碳纖維介紹

碳纖維最早是1880年竹碳纖維開始,隨空間技術發展,到1960年代,日本進藤昭男發明PAN系碳纖維後獲得迅速發展。碳纖維重量僅鋼鐵的5分之1,鋁的2分之1,但強度卻是鐵的10倍。此外還具耐腐蝕、導電、導熱、傳熱、低比重、高抗張強度、高模數等優異特性,且又具有纖維般柔曲性,易於編織加工和纏繞成型。在應用領域上,近年來航太產業新世代機種如波音787、Airbus 380等均已大幅採用以外,碳纖維也被大量使用在運動、汽車和工業用途,如高爾夫球桿、球拍、釣竿、高階車體、風力葉片、高壓電纜和建築工程等。 碳纖維屬於重要戰略物資,目前全世界有能力高規格碳纖維的廠商均位於日本,屬於高度寡佔的市場,其中又以東麗公司(Toray)為其中翹楚。如附圖1東麗公司產品規格所示,碳纖維主要以強度(代表材料可承受之最大應力)及模數(日本稱:彈性率,代表材料之剛性,抵抗變形的能力)做為等級的區分,越高強度或越高模數代表等級越高,價格也隨之上升。目前業界所最普及使用的T700產品,屬高強度碳纖維,強度為4.9GPa,模數為230GPa,俗稱為24噸級碳纖,屬於低模數碳纖維。而Toray公司的M系列及MJ系列,如M30, M40,M60,便是屬於中高模數碳纖維,模數為270~560GPa,俗稱30噸、40噸、60噸碳纖維。目前來說,大多數碳纖維製造商仍只停留在製作24噸級碳纖維產品,尚未跨入中高階產品中。

圖一、日本東麗公司產品規格分佈圖 圖二、碳纖維分子結構示意

以聚丙烯腈為原料製造PAN碳纖維的流程一般如下:聚丙烯腈原料(抽絲) →穩定化/預氧化工程(200~300℃,空氣中氧化時間10-20小時) →碳化工程(1000-1400℃,氮氣中加熱時間2小時以上) →石墨化工程(1500-2000℃,氬氣中加熱時間0.5小時以上)→石墨化纖維。在高溫處理過程中,碳纖維分子將逐步聚合形成緊密層狀結構,石墨層間間距越小,亦即c軸方向距離縮短,Van der Waals力的協同效應將使得結構的穩定性增強,使得碳纖維的剛性提昇。

二、高模數碳纖維應用

目前複合材料的設計,趨向大型化及輕量化,如何在更好的結構性能設計下,減輕結構體重量,是複合材料產品升級的關鍵。目前作法包括提昇模擬設計技術(降低設計安全容忍度)、使用高剛性的碳纖維材料、改善複合材料製程技術。以目前對設計端而言,最方便的便是採用高剛性的碳纖維材料,因為結構可以在安全容忍度內達到減重的效果,又不需要調整複合材料製程。以日本為例,依輕量化、高性能化需求,未來10年內,評估最有機會大量採用碳纖維複合材料的應用面為家用車市場、太陽能電池、大型風力發電機組以及大型民航機。

以風力發電葉片為例,如附圖所示,目前1.5MW的葉片,總長約35米,葉片主體是以玻璃纖維製作。若要建置7MW級的大型化離場風力發電機組,葉片長度將長達70米長,相當於A380客機之翼寬,由於葉片的受力方向特定,因此風力發電葉片需大量採用中高模數碳纖維以提昇剛性,減少變形量,維持葉片壽命並提昇風力轉換效率,以每機組3支葉片計算,3MW風力機組便需要9噸碳纖維。


圖三、大型化風力發電機組設計概念

以台灣熟悉的面板產業為例,8代廠以上的面板運送基本上必須採用機械手臂並配合HM(high modulus)的碳纖複合材料支架CFRP,才能避免自重變形及荷重變形過大,而造成在後端製程如鍍膜所產生的誤差。由三菱公司資料顯示,RM CFRP(Raw modulus)的自重變形量在24mm,相同尺寸的設計下,HM CFRP自重變形量僅8mm,且可以承載原本1.5倍面積大(重)玻璃,對於整體工程系統的操作性及安定性具有很大效益。

圖四、面板產業8代廠運送用機械手臂設計概念

另一高模數碳纖維市場應用案例為3C產業,包含筆記型電腦、Pad、智慧型手機等,均不斷強調與開發輕薄、散熱佳之產品。而碳纖維複合材料正符合此類需求,但過往碳纖複合材料為完整利用碳纖優異之機械特性,均採用熱固型樹酯材料,此類材料需要數小時硬化時間,且無法修整,無法滿足3C產業的需求。相較起來,熱塑型複合材料具有快速成型之優點,若加上中高模數碳纖維的採用設計概念,不僅可以彌補在高薄度下,一般低模數碳纖熱塑型複合材料剛性偏低之弊病,更有機會解決3C產業所期待的量產性問題。

圖五、中高模數碳纖維應用在熱塑型複合材料

三、高模數碳纖維市場

至2007起,全世界除日本外,韓國、印度、土耳其、大陸為掌握碳纖維這下一世代關鍵材料,均採取國家資本投入與鼓勵投資策略,包括台灣台塑也積極擴產,也因此產生了近50家的新進碳纖公司。但是碳纖維市場中單項產品使用量最大的的航太產業認證期相當漫長,投入者大幅增加的結果,導致目前碳纖維市場供給量已達7萬噸幾乎是過去的一倍,民生領域供過於求的狀況使得低模數碳纖維價格大幅滑落。但反觀中高模數碳纖維市場,由於技術障礙造成高門檻始終未被突破,至目前全世界主要供給者仍只有日本東麗、東邦、三菱公司,中高模數碳纖維屬於超高溫石墨化製程(2000度C以上),在生產過程中,碳纖維的任何缺陷均會造成應力集中產生毛羽及破壞,此點使得高模數碳纖的良率大幅低於低模數碳纖維,加上戰略物資的市場管制,因此在市場上,低模數碳纖維往往具有高達20~30%的波動性,但中高模數碳纖維價格卻始終持平並且居高不下,附件表一為不同模數等級碳纖維之市場行情,可已發現中模數碳纖價格幾乎為低模數碳纖2倍以上,成本的巨幅差異,導致高模數應用市場難以大幅擴展。


圖六、中高模數碳纖維價格差異

四、國內碳纖複材產業的發展契機

目前國內複材產業包含上游的碳纖原料及樹酯原料、中游的Prepreg、編織布廠、下游的成型廠以及末端消費系統、品牌應用商等,在運動產業其實發展的相當完整,要跨入其他產業如3C、風力葉片、工程領域等,以台灣過去多年深耕之技術實力不難。但國內業者在中高階碳纖材料的取得上仍然受制於日本廠商管控以及價格偏高的限制,致使新世代的產品升級及轉型趨緩。

圖七、碳纖維複合材料產業鏈產品結構

永虹科技由工研院技術團隊出身,歷經數年努力,開發出全世界獨有的特殊專利石墨化技術,可以超過2000度C以上高溫,將市面上之低模數碳纖以加工方式依客戶需要升級為高模數碳纖維。這種處理方式,碳纖維不限廠牌,模數提昇效果經專業認證,如永虹的U-30產品模數可較一般低模數碳纖維提昇20%以上,同時維持高強度,證實可取代市面上30噸級產品,提供市場低價位高品質之中高模數碳纖維,並可協助客戶更換sizing,調整纖維幅寬等。永虹科技生產中高模數碳纖維的目標是打破美、日壟斷,獨家提供市場價格更低、品質更佳之碳纖維並提供專業技術服務,協助客戶進行產品設計與升級。

圖八、永虹科技中高模數碳纖維產品

五、結語

高模數碳纖維具有輕量化、高性能化之特性,可作為大多數結構材料的最終選擇。目前高模數碳纖維在航太產業、風力葉片、自用車、工程用途、土木補強、電子產業、運動產業中,均已被逐漸提昇設計比例,唯高模數碳纖維仍須解決供需失衡、購買管制、製程調整、產品設計等問題,最重要的是價格必須能降低至符合市場解決方案,如此,新世代的複材產品才能快速被消費大眾接受,並引領台灣複材產業投入創新開發、產品升級,使整體產業能掙脫限制,朝向高毛利化、高附加價值化發展。